Online Databases

Residents won’t be without library services, even while we are closed due to COVID-19. Any card holder has access to a wide variety of online resources, including e-books and online learning platforms. Our databases include:

OverDrive: Patrons can enjoy access to over 7,000 e-book titles and almost 2,000 e-audio titles in the NCLS OverDrive collection. Additionally, the NCLS OverDrive collection includes access to 25 different magazines, including Newsweek, Popular Mechanics, Food Network, and HGTV. 

Universal Class: Learners have access to over 500 different self-guided courses, including subjects in general education, teacher resources, office skills, and hobbies. These high quality, online courses include lessons, exams, assignments, discussion boards and progress assessments to help students master learning outcomes.

ArtistWorks: Learn a musical instrument online! Each instrument has a massive lesson library that covers the fundamentals, advanced techniques, and key learning strategies. Lessons are accessible anywhere, from any device.

Transparent Language: Explore a new language using any Internet-connected device. Available in 110+ languages, including ESL, learners have the flexibility they need to learn a new language anytime, anywhere.

Fold3: Features premier collections of original military records. These records include the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served in the military. Many of the records come from the U.S. National archives, The National Archives of the U.K. and other international records.

ReferenceUSA: Offers the most up-to-date data available in the market for small business owners and marketing professionals.

Cypress Resume: Jobseekers can build a resume with an easy-to-use template that provides concise, professional language to describe core tasks of a multitude of professions.

Any North Country resident can sign up for a library card online through the NCLS catalog at www.ncls.org by clicking on My Account and then Register for Library Card. This provides one full year of access to NCLS online resources without having to go to a library in person.